Impact of Tsunami on Groundwater, Soils and Vegetation in Coastal Regions of Sri Lanka



19 September 2005





Soil Survey Laboratory & SRICANSOL Resource Center


Department of Soil Science

Faculty of Agriculture

University of Peradeniya



Sponsored by


United States National Science Foundation (USNSF)

National Science Foundation of Sri Lanka (NSF)

Soil Science Society of Sri Lanka (SSSSL)





9.00 a.m. - Welcome Address

Dr. N. Jayasooriya - NSF

Prof. Ananda Gunatilaka NSF

Prof. Ranjith B. Mapa - SSSSL


9.10 a.m. - Address by Prof. K.G.A. Goonasekara

Vice Chancellor, University of Peradeniya


Session I Chairman: Prof. T. Illangasekare


9.15 a.m. - Project background, goals and planned outcomes

Prof. Tissa Illangasekare

Dr. Jayantha Obeysekera


9.30 a.m. - Post-tsunami Research Initiatives in the coastal zone

Zone of Sri Lanka

Prof. Ananada Gunathilaka


10.00 a.m. - Tea


10.30 a.m. - Pre and post Tsunami salinity effects on agricultural


Prof. R.B. Mapa, Dr. M.W. Wickramasinghe

D.N. Sirisena and K.M.A. Kendaragama


11.00 a.m. - Synopsis of Post-Tsunami Rapid

Environmental Assessments in Sri Lanka

Dr. Mahesh Jayaweera


11.30 a.m. - Hydrogeology of the coastal area of Sri Lanka

Dr. H.A. Dharmagunawardena


12.00 noon - Lunch


Session II- Chairman: Dr. Jayantha Obeysekera


1.00 p.m. Pre and post Tsunami effects on vegetation of

coastal areas

Dr. S.P. Nissanka


1.30 p.m. - Groundwater conditions of the Dry Zone of

Sri Lanka with special emphasis on the coastal region

Dr.Lasantha Perera and Dr. C.R. Panabokke.


2.00 p.m - Tsunami Impacts on shallow groundwater and

associated water supply on the East coast of Sri


. Dr. Karen Villholth


2.30 p.m. - Integrated management of surface water and

Groundwater Approaches and system tools

Prof. William Yeh


3.00 p.m Water and Salinity Dynamics in Soils and


Prof. Rien van Genuchten


3.30 p.m Tea


4.00 p.m Coastal Aquifer chemical mixing: salt-water

freshwater stability issues and possible mechanisms

for post-tsunami aquifer mixing.

Prof. Scott Tyler


4.30 p.m. - Comments by participants and discussion

Prof. Tissa Illangasekara

Dr. Jayantha Obeysekara


6.00 p.m Conclusion